Beauty in Misery…

What is it with misery that when a man sees a woman wallowing in it he is immediatley drawn to her? Left wanting to know her, comfort her and somehow soother her off her pains? Does it add mystery, does it radiate a glow out of a woman's aura causing men mystified by it? It seems men get more interested in a woman when they learn she is in miserable and/or vulnerable.

Proof of what I'm yakking about here is this. Below is a poem that a newly-found guy friend of mine sent me thru SMS just the other day. Know that he's not the only one(believe me, there have been many!) I've met recently who's shown interest in knowing me more or tried even to save me from the 'hell' they think I am right now. Just bec. I'm damned miserable…

As I gaze outward,

I feel a sudden breeze,

cool yet brazenly strong,

egging me onward…holding me back

a tug of war for all time…

then I look inward, seeking solace

answers to questions asked from eons past

and I sense loneliness,

a fleeting fawn, passing slowly

the fawn has a lively gait

but has sorrow in her eyes

and a heaviness in her heart

must I approach this fawn

and hear her story…

This one made me laugh so hard my guts hurt! Yeah call me a bitch if you like, a 'cold-hearted bitch' even to add some flavor. But I just couldn't help it. Of all people I'm the last one I can think of that needs saving. Puh-lease!

Come to think of it, while writing this post it just hit me, like a stone to a brick wall. Just realized that maybe jst maybe, men are drawn to miserable women coz the need to be a 'savior' surfaces in them once they see a so-called helpless miserable woman. Admit it guys, there's a part in you that wants to be 'the hero' at the end of the day. Quite noble really but then for people like me, it's more of annoying borderline intruding.

You see I am the type of person who does not want to depend on anybody not even to those close to me. I am proud and I am stubborn, hard-headed to the point of unreason. I may be miserable but I don't need no saving, not even from 'Superman' himself no pun intended of course. I have always been capable of myself and always took my problems to myself, never opened up to anybody. And for some guy to try or even think they can bring me salvation much more retribution is one big freakin' waste of time for me. Believe me I don't need the saving much more a new boyfriend(last thing I need right now!) save it for somebody more miserable than me. I can manage by myself, thank you very much.

Now, if misery does add beauty and mystery to a woman, does that mean I am beautiful too, just coz I'm miserable?! hmm… Nah! Just an insane thought(humor me pls!)… haha πŸ˜‰

~ by Mayang on May 20, 2006.

6 Responses to “Beauty in Misery…”

  1. I think that you might be right on this one. I won’t generalize, but man indeed wants to be handsome and have “the hero aura” around them — speaking of myself.

    Actually, I think that it’s just normal, because man are man, but women are women, only lately the border have gotten thinner between these two genders (not speaking about orientation here), ‘coz now there are much more things women can do and society won’t say or do anything as there were previously and vice-versa.

    For many years (well, really, for many) man have been the one who protected women and to whom women ran for help, in our current society it’s different. I believe that there is mostly no longer gender discrimination; both are equal in modern society. So, women, actually, don’t have a single reason why would they need a help from a man.

    Still, you say that you don’t want to be saved by anyone, to say the truth, I don’t believe you, or simply you haven’t met the right person, that’s what I think.

    Sorry for random rambling, was in need of taking my mind off πŸ˜‰

  2. I re-read once again what you wrote and to say the truth, we have something in common; we both want to be independent and solve our problems by ourselves. Also, I dare to say that we have adjusted ourselves to the frequency where we think that being by ourselves is the best possible way, which probably isn’t the truth. However, I still think that there could be a person who could make our lives easier and more colorful, at least mine for that matter.

    Sorry again and thanks for previously saying hi! πŸ˜‰

  3. i dnt mind the rambling, i do it almost all of the time too! reason for this blog! hehe i agree on what u said about today having a thin border bet. men and women and what they can and can't do. yes, there's aperson for each one of us that can make our lives colorful, so happened i found mine already but let go of him. w/c was stupid of me of course, that's why i'm miserable now and choose to wallow in it… i don't need saving by jst some guy out there. it's gotta be me allowing to be saved by someone… hehe πŸ˜‰

    you're welcome on the 'Hi', quite cool actually! you asking anybody who's visited your site to at least say 'hi' πŸ˜€

  4. what a thought!!!!
    jus can say men are so proud, they think everything revolve on ’em!

  5. haha you said that not me! but really, i noticed men have this ‘superhero’ idea sometimes. i guess that’s why superman really did make a hit! hehe jst another thought… πŸ˜›

  6. pos yourgirls

Leave a Reply

 
